People Places and thoughts

A Peruvian Man’s Philosophy of Death

Today I watched an interesting film on a particular 30 day healing place deep in the Amazon jungle of Peru.  It was an hour or so long and it was very interesting, http://www.thesacredscience.com/screening_watchnow,   and sent to me by a friend from France.  I think aside from the very impressive young man who has chosen to follow his father instead of his peers, I most enjoyed the part where the Peruvian narrator canoed on a tributary of the Amazon and had this to say;

What is death?

What is life?

Life without death has no meaning.  Wherever there is life there is death.

And we can not hide from it.

Death is a change, a process.  it is necessary for life.

Western Societies have demonized death. But why? Due to fear and ignorance.  Because, there is something to be afraid of after death?

What is it?

What is God?

They are truly afraid of God, and he is life itself.

So they stay away from death and by doing so they stay away from life as well.

I thought it was very thought provoking.  Think about it.  I will let you add to the meaning of each sentence above, as you think about what he said.  I watch some of my friends, because we are all on the later side of life, and some are afraid to die because of this, or that reason, they will miss out on this or that, or to wherever their thoughts take them.  But to have lived this long and this well, if you have truly enjoyed your life then well the next adventure should take the cake! Especially when you can ride off into the sunset with a view like this.  000_0113 P.S. let me know if you still can’t see the photo.

Standard

Leave a comment